FDP 2017: My experiences and learning

Hello everyone,

This is my first blog post for the Faculty Development Programme 2017. I thought this is going to be a wonderful platform to connect to some 7500 participants and share my experiences, challenges  and overall learning so far. So, here it goes.

The Week 1 was really exciting with lots of interactive videos and information. The assignments were designed very systematically and very structured. A learner has to follow each and every step or else one will lose the thread. The most challenging part of the entire session was to watch and listen thoroughly to all videos and external resources. Though it sounds very simple but it is not. One has to devote quality time in watching and understanding the concepts and also learn it by doing assigned reflection activities. The other crucial part was to maintain the course journal. The challenge was not just  to keep writing it but also share it with other participants for peer reviews. The entire process is very systematic. I faced a few technical issues while I was uploading my course journal. But I managed to upload it on the given deadline, August 13. Surprisingly, a mail was circulated saying that the date of submission has been extended to August 15! I know that would been a much relief to many respondents who could not submit it on the earlier given deadlines but it was actually a learning experience of not keeping things for the last moment. Apart from all the other interactions, the graded activities are the crucial element in the entire course. One has to be careful in doing the graded activities. One has to follow the tortoise story! I personally learnt it that way.

Week 2: This week kept me more engaged in reading, watching the various resources that was provided. The Web mentors list was very very helpful in this regard. The faculty website and blog posts are a few things that I always thought of doing it but never could do it. But thanks to this FDP course, where I could actually go through it practically and create one. As planned earlier, August 19-20, we will have Face to Face online interaction at our remote centers. I am looking forward for the session which would be my first online learning experience. I am highly satisfied with the FDP course which is so well designed and managed. It is only Week 2 and we have got Week 3 assignments too! So, get active and start doing it.

Happy learning!

 

Leave a comment